SAT’s Assessments

SATs are standardised assessment tests administered by primary schools in England to children in Year 2 and Year 6 to check their educational progress.  They are one marker used by the government, and hence parents, of the quality of the education at a school.  The setting and marking of SATs are carried out in UK Schools by the Standards and Testing Agency.

KS1 SATs in Year 2

In May, children will sit their KS1 in:

  • Reading
  • Maths

They will also be assessed by their teacher on science, writing, and speaking and listening.  This however is known as the teacher assessment, and it is not an official score for the SATs or national assessments.

Click here for information for parents about national curriculum assessment results at the end of key stage 1

KS2 SATs in Year 6

In Year 6 SATs are a more formal process of testing, and children will sit KS2 SATs 2022 in:

  • English Reading
  • English Grammar
  • Punctuation
  • Spelling
  • Maths

They will also be assessed by their teachers on subjects including speaking and listening, writing and, in some cases, science.

By using teacher assessment, schools and the government are able to judge a child’s performance in a subject over a longer period of time.  This means that teachers are able to account for a child’s whole knowledge and ability in a subject, not just that which comes to the fore in a test environment.

SAT’s Year 6